Introducing: 90 Degrees South

A murder mystery at the south pole! All sorts of interesting characters, including one from another parallel universe! What am I talking about? Why, 90 Degrees South, of course!

Cover art, including an image of the outline of Antarctica, as well as the pointer of a compass with the words 90 Degrees South on it. The image is blue and white.

Now, some of you who know me, Mel, know that I am a HUGE fan of King Falls AM (I even have the tattoo to prove it), the unfortunately unfinished but brilliant podcast about the weird goings on in a sleepy mountain town. So obviously I was through the roof excited to learn that our very own man-of-a-thousand-voices Trent Shumway would be part of this new show. Then I also found out Kyle Brown, aka Shotgun Sammy, would be a part as well. Then they added in Owen Virgin, aka Jacob Williams aka The Dirt, so I was beyond ready!! Plus, the premise of the show is super cool. A murder mystery set at the south pole? Heck yes, sign me up!

The writer and producer of the show (and I believe also the sound designer?) is Brian Bradley and the show’s website is here. They just recently started offering merch, and I cannot wait to get my hands on a shirt! Now, onto the show!

We start out with the trailers, which introduce Deputy Marshal Bass Marlow, a U.S. Marshall that was sent to the Amundsen-Scott research station at the south pole to investigate the murder of a scientist on the station, Dr. Mark Rodney. This is the very first murder in Antarctica, ever.

We slowly learn, over the course of following 12 episodes (as of writing this) that absolutely no one is willing to confess to the murder. Deputy Marshal Marlow interviews the whole station, and we get to meet some interesting characters, including my favorite nonbinary character, Mx. Webster (played by Hanna/Juno). We also learn how weird the station’s people are, including their visitors, the Trolls, aka the Norwegians. Seriously, I couldn’t possibly fit into this article how interesting and sometimes very strange the characters in this show are. I love them!

The show has transcipts, which can be found on their website. They have the cast listed, though I will mark a small complaint that they don’t say who each person plays in the show. It’s not too hard to figure out if you already know which voice belongs to who, but if you’re not a fan of KFAM you probably don’t know them. You can find them on twitter as well as podchaser, along with Spotify and Apple Podcasts, and any other podcast place you use to listen to your shows.

So what are you waiting for? Check this show out asap! It’s so good and I am always excited to see when new episodes show up in my feed. In fact, I started this morning out with the newest one!

Published by MelHartman

Mel is a queer, non-binary writer. Having attained their bachelor's in creative writing in 2015, they recently started an MFA program for the same at Southern New Hampshire University. They are a passionate and avid listener of podcasts, specifically fiction audio drama ones, and are here to tell you all about the ones they love!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started